Comparison

PivotBank vs
DocuClipper

DocuClipper is a solid, SOC 2 compliant converter built for accounting firms, with plans from $29 per month. PivotBank is the privacy-first, budget-friendly alternative: your PDF is read without your PDF ever being uploaded, and a single statement costs $2.99 one-time, no subscription needed. Here is an honest comparison.

Comparison

Feature comparison

FeaturePivotBankDocuClipper
PDF never uploaded
OCR for scanned statements
SOC 2 compliance
N/A, no uploads
Free tier
Free preview
14-day trial
One-time unlock, no subscription
$2.99/statement
Monthly plan
$14/mo, 1,000 pages
From $29/mo (~60 pages on entry plan)
No account needed to start
Excel (XLSX) and CSV export
QuickBooks export (.qbo)
Xero export (.ofx)
Quicken export (.qif)
Not stated
Deep accounting-suite integrations
Batch conversion
JSON export
Spending insights dashboard
1000+ banks supported

Comparison based on publicly available information from docuclipper.com. DocuClipper features and pricing may change. Last reviewed July 2026. Rows marked “Not stated” are PivotBank capabilities the review did not cover; no claim is made about the other tool.

Differences

The key differences

Privacy

DocuClipper uploads your documents to its servers for processing, and to its credit it is SOC 2 compliant. PivotBank takes a different approach: the PDF is opened on your device, so the file itself is never uploaded; only its transaction lines are read, with identifying details removed, and a scanned page is sent as an image. If your policy is that the documents themselves must not leave your machine, only one of these architectures satisfies it.

Pricing

DocuClipper starts at around $29 to $39 per month, with roughly 60 pages per month on the lowest tier. PivotBank starts free (the first 5 rows of any statement), a single statement unlock is $2.99 one-time with no subscription, and Pro is $14/mo or $140/yr for 1,000 pages a month. If you convert a handful of statements a month, the difference adds up fast.

Who each is for

DocuClipper is aimed at accounting firms that want deep QuickBooks and Xero integrations and a managed, server-side workflow. PivotBank suits individuals, freelancers, and firms that want a fast in-browser converter with QuickBooks (.qbo) and Xero (.ofx) export, batch, and an API on Pro, without documents ever leaving the browser.

A Real Architectural Difference

Server-side upload vs in-browser processing

DocuClipper, like most converters, processes documents on its servers. That is a reasonable model, and SOC 2 compliance shows they take it seriously. But for law firms, government bodies, and organisations with strict data residency or confidentiality rules, any upload of a client bank statement to a third-party server can be a non-starter, regardless of how well that server is run.

PivotBank removes the question entirely. The PDF is opened inside the browser tab and the file is never uploaded; a scanned page is the exception, rendered on your device and sent as an image to be read. Only the transaction lines can ever be sent, with your name, address, account number, IBAN and sort code stripped out first, and the only data stored is the extracted transaction data of statements you explicitly choose to save, which you control and can delete anytime.

None

PDF files uploaded to our servers

Never

Names and account numbers sent

FAQ

Choosing between the two

What does DocuClipper do that PivotBank does not?

Deep integrations, chiefly. DocuClipper pushes data into accounting suites directly and handles document types beyond bank statements, such as invoices and receipts. It is also SOC 2 compliant, which matters when a firm’s procurement process asks who is holding the file. If your workflow depends on a direct sync rather than an import, that is the reason to pay for it.

Then why is PivotBank SOC 2 "N/A" rather than compliant?

Because SOC 2 describes how a provider protects data on its servers, and the PDF never reaches ours. It is opened in your browser, including OCR, so there is no server-side copy to audit, no retention window and no sub-processor touching the statement. That is a different answer to the same question, not a weaker one, and it is verifiable: open your network tab during a conversion.

How much cheaper is it, really?

DocuClipper’s entry plan starts around $29 a month for roughly 60 pages. PivotBank is $2.99 for a single statement with no subscription at all, or $14 a month for 1,000 pages. If you convert a handful of statements a month, the per-statement unlock is the honest comparison and it is an order of magnitude less. If you convert constantly, compare $14 against $29.

Can I try it without signing up or starting a trial?

Yes. Any statement previews free with no account, no card and no trial clock. You see the first rows, with the running balance verified line by line, before you decide whether to pay for anything. There is nothing to cancel if you do not.

Which is better for a firm processing many clients?

It depends on where the work is. If statements arrive as PDFs from clients and go into Xero or QuickBooks by import, batch mode converts a client’s year in one pass and the Pro plan removes the page cap, and client data never leaves the machine it arrived on. If your firm has standardised on a tool that writes into the ledger for you, the integration is worth more than the price difference.

Do I get the same file formats?

Excel, CSV, QBO for QuickBooks and OFX for Xero are on both. PivotBank also exports QIF and JSON, and includes categorisation and spending insights in the unlock rather than as a higher tier.

Is my data used to train anything?

No, and the architecture is what makes that answerable rather than a promise. We never receive the PDF. The only data stored is the extracted transactions of statements you explicitly unlock and save to an account, which you can delete at any time.

Convert a statement for $2.99, not $29/month

Start with a free preview. No account required. Your PDF is opened on your device, so the file itself is never uploaded.